Daleen Millard

The Dean has general responsibility for the Faculty of Law, internally within the University (particularly with central administration) and externally to the Bar and to other academic and professional bodies (eg, the Council of Canadian Law Deans and the Federation of the Law Societies of Canada). They also have ultimate responsibility within the Faculty for budgeting and fundraising, human resource matters, major events, marketing and communication, the revision of Faculty Rules, etc. They serve as President of the Board of Directors of the Community Legal Clinic, ex officio on a variety of University committees (eg, the Deans’ Council, Provost’s Council, and Senate) and on other committees established by Faculty Council (eg, with respect to admissions and academic planning).

The Dean works closely with both the Associate Dean and the Assistant Dean. They chair the Faculty Council and present a regular report there. And in addition to a general responsibility to students, the Dean meets regularly with the President of TRU’s Society of Law Students (SLS).

Associate Dean

Seán Patrick Donlan

The Associate Dean provides advice and assistance to the Dean, both generally and specifically on a number of matters (eg, budgeting, human resource matters, the revision of Faculty Rules, etc). When appropriate, they deputize for the Dean, serve as the Dean’s delegate on tenure and promotion committees under the TRUFA Collective Agreement, and serve ex officio on other committees established by Faculty Council (eg, for academic planning). They also have general responsibilities with respect to academic development, including research, service, and teaching.

The Associate Dean works closely with the Dean, the Assistant Dean, and members of faculty. They present a regular report to Faculty Council and liaise with sessional instructors. With respect to students, they act as a general advisor and ombudsperson for the Faculty (for concerns and complaints about faculty and administration) and oversee matters of academic integrity, class and exam accommodation, deferred and supplemental exams, directed research courses, reappraisals, registration, student and credit transfers, and study abroad.