Skip to main contentSkip Navigation or Skip to Content
Thompson Rivers University
Thompson Rivers University

President's Distinguished Teacher Award

Application Deadline:  Wednesday, February 14, 2024

TRU recognizes one individual who best represents significant long-term, career achievements in teaching, pedagogy and the promotion of excellence in learning and teaching. The President’s Distinguished Teacher Award complements and builds on the annual Teaching Excellence Awards.

Nominees for the President’s Distinguished Teacher Award may be full-time or part-time faculty and must have been employed in a faculty role at TRU for at least five continuous years. The winner will receive an engraved plaque plus the opportunity to attend a future meeting of the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education or equivalent teaching and learning conference (to a maximum of $3,000). Recipients must use this award within a two-year period from the date of the award.

Candidates may self-nominate, or be nominated by deans, chairs, faculty members or students.

For details, please refer to the following:

President’s Distinguished Teacher Award description and criteria
President’s Distinguished Teacher Award nomination form*

Submit a Nomination

*The committee recognizes that collecting physical signatures on the nomination form may not be possible. For these reasons we will accept electronic signatures or letters of support in lieu of a signed nomination form.

Awards will be presented at the President's Annual Merit and Service Award reception.

Year Recipient
2022 Lyn Baldwin
2021 Iain Stewart-Patterson
2019 Lian Dumouchel
2018 Nancy Flood
2012 Peter Tsigaris
2011 Ginny Ratsoy
2009 Joanne Jones
2007 Gary Hunt
2006 Kathlyn Mitchell
2005 Penny Heaslip
Search To Top