Skip to main contentSkip Navigation or Skip to Content


On March 31, 2005, the Thompson Rivers University Act created three governing bodies for TRU: the Board, the Senate, and the Planning Council for Open Learning.

Elections are held each fall and winter to fill positions on the TRU governing bodies as necessary.

Winter 2023 elections for the Board of Governors, the University Senate the Planning Council for Open Learning, and the TRU Community Trust Board of Directors.

Positions on TRU governing bodies to be filled through winter 2023 elections, commencing in February 2023, are as follows:

Board of Governors

Two (2) Student representatives: Appointment term one year - September 1, 2023, to August 31, 2024

University Senate

Four (4) Student representatives: Appointment term one year - September 1, 2023, to August 31, 2024

Planning Council for Open Learning (PCOL)

One (1) Open Learning Student representative: Appointment term one year - September 1, 2023, to August 31, 2024

TRU Community Trust Board of Directors

One (1) TRU Student representative: Appointment term one year - September 1, 2023, to August 31, 2024

Winter 2023 Election Schedule

February 6, to February 10, 2023 – Call for Nominations
Nominations open on February 6, 2023, for all the positions above. Nominations must be submitted by email to, or dropped off at the Enrolment Services Office, Admissions Counter in Old Main by 4:00 p.m. on Friday, February 10, 2023. Nominations received after the deadline are not eligible.

A representative of the University Registrar will acknowledge receipt of all nominations and will confirm candidate eligibility via email.

All nominees are encouraged to review relevant legislation, by-laws, and terms of reference for the governing bodies to which they seek election. (Senate, Board of Governors, Planning Council for Open Learning, TRU Community Trust).

The nomination period will be followed by four (4) weeks before the voting period commences.

Candidate Statements
Candidates that meet election eligibility requirements are invited to submit a brief candidate statement in support of their nomination.

The campaign period shall commence as soon as possible and no later than five (5) business days following the end of the nomination period. Candidates may begin to campaign only after the Registrar has confirmed the eligibility of all candidates and published the names of all candidates online on the election web page. The campaign period will continue up to and including the voting period.

  • All candidates are required to act with honesty and integrity and conduct themselves in a professional and dignified manner in their campaigns.
  • Candidates must adhere to TRU’s Posting Procedures Policy ADM 01-3 when campaigning and are responsible for the removal of all campaign materials within a reasonable time following the close of the elections.
  • Areas to be used for campaigning may be subject to booking rules. Candidates should review and adhere to the procedures for Room, Venue and Table Bookings.

*Candidates should adhere to TRU COVID protocol when campaigning.

March 13, to March 16, 2023 – Voting
Voting will begin on March 13, 2023, and will be conducted by anonymous and secure online ballot through myTRU. Voting will close at 4:00 p.m. on Thursday, March 16, 2023. No ballots will be accepted after the close of voting.

March 23, 2023 – Election Results
The Registrar will communicate all election results within five (5) business days of the close of voting. Candidates will be notified by email of their own outcome. All election results, including voting counts, will be posted on the TRU elections web page.

Proposed meeting times and attendance (subject to change)
Meeting times for each governing body will vary and attendance is required. For meeting schedules, please see:

Nomination forms will be available here beginning on February 6. They will also be available from the Enrolment Services Office Admissions Counter in Old Main, on the first floor of the Kamloops Campus, or by email request to

For more information, email

Historical Election Results
Search To Top