Thompson Rivers University

Faculty of Science

Environmental Science

Master of Science in Environmental Science Faculty

The faculty listed below are eligible to supervise or co-supervise graduate students in the Master of Science program in Environmental Science. They may be contacted directly to discuss potential opportunities for studying under their supervision.


Name  Department Research Areas

Dr. Faheem Ahmed 

Computing Science  Software Product Line; Software Process Assessment; Software Cost Estimation; Reusability of Software Assets; Empirical Software Engineering; Large Scale Software Architecture; Software EcoSystems; Cloud Computing; Software Testing, Quality and Inspection; Component Based Software Development;
Dr. Lyn Baldwin Biological Sciences plant ecology, forest, riparian communities, bryophytes, human disturbance, fragmentation.
Dr. Rick Brewster  Mathematics & Statistics   

discrete mathematics, theoretical computing science; computational complexity; graph theory; polynomial time algorithms and good characterizations

Dr. Darryl Carlyle-Moses Geography & Environmental Studies  hydrology, microclimatology, urban biophysical environments
Dr. Naowarat (Ann) Cheeptham Biological Sciences  

microbial diversity in caves (volcanic and limestone origins) and other extreme habitats, actinomycetes, fermentation, bioactive compounds, bioactive compounds, drug discovery and antibiotic resistance surveillance

Dr. John Church   Natural Resource Sciences

sustainability of cattle industry, range management, meat production, beef production

Dr. Bruno Cinel Chemistry  natural products chemistry involving the isolation, structure elucidation, and chemical ecology of compounds from terrestrial and marine organisms; remote operation of instrumentation and science education through the BC-Integrated Laboratory Network (BC-ILN) 
Dr. Hasnat Dewan Economics sustainable development, environmental and natural resource economics, banking crises, human development
Dr. Tom Dickinson Biological Sciences (currently Dean of Science) ornithology, conservation biology
Dr. Kingsley Donkor Chemistry

environmental and analytical chemistry, chemometric techniques in environmental and agricultural research, speciation of air particulates and health effects

Dr. Haytham El Miligi Computing Science Mobile Application Development (Healthcare, Home Automation, Education, and Security Applications); Multi-Core Real-Time Systems (Scheduling, Mapping , Parallel Programing, and Performance Evaluation); 3D Network-on-Chips Modeling and Optimization
Dr. Nancy Flood Biological Sciences

ornithology, ecology and evolution of orioles

Dr. Lauchlan Fraser Biological Sciences; Natural Resource Sciences

plant ecology, grasslands, wetlands, climate change, food web theory, plant diversity, carbon sequestration, grassland restoration, agroforestry

Dr. Wendy Gardner Natural Resource Sciences 

grassland ecology and management, range management, ungulates, reclamation

Dr. Louis Gosselin Biological Sciences 

marine invertebrate ecology: early life history, population regulation, community structure, mortality factors, invasive species, species at risk, benthic species, intertidal, subtidal, dispersal

Dr. James Gu  Architectural & Engineering Technology


Dr. Brian Heise  Natural Resource Sciences 

aquatic ecosystems, stream ecology, ichthyology, land-use practices, stream recovery, aquatic entomology

Dr. Rob Higgins    Biological Sciences

Ecology of ants in sub-boreal forests and the management of post-harvest coarse woody debris

Dr. David Hill Geography & Environmental Studies 

data mining and modeling methods, complex environmental systems problems, fate and transport of contaminants, decision trees, artificial neural networks, etc.

Dr. Rob Hood  Tourism Management 

land use and tourism, rural tourism development 

Dr. Heidi Huttenen-Hennelly  Chemistry 

the investigation of structure-activity relationships and mechanism of action in antimicrobial peptides through traditional & novel methods 

Dr. Terry Kading  Philosophy, History & Politics 

trade and development, social planning in small cities, Latin America

Dr. John Karakatsoulis  Natural Resource Sciences 

Forest Ecology

Dr. Mila Kwiatkowska  Computing Science

medical decision support systems, database systems and data mining, biomedical informatics 

Dr. Laura Lamb Economics 

Community Economic Development, Applied Microeconomics, Public Finance, Policy Economics, Behavioural Economics

Dr. Karl Larsen  Natural Resource Sciences 

wildlife conservation and management, mammalogy, herpetology, dispersal theory, movement ecology and habitat use

Dr. Mohammad Mahbobi  Economics 

quantitative methods in business, management, and economics, international trade and trade policy, applied economics, crude oil market 

Dr. Courtney Mason

Tourism Management

Health Sciences; Indigenous Health; Tourism, Parks and Protected Areas; Rural Food Security and Sovereignty; Ecotourism and Development; Human and Social Dimensions of Rural Ecology

Dr. Nelaine Mora-Diez  Chemistry 

computational chemistry, atmospheric chemistry, kinetic studies, thermodynamic studies, excited states  

Dr. Mark Paetkau  Physical Sciences

Infrared Thermography for early disease detection, Parasitic seed dispersal in Dwarf Mistletoe, avian behavior using RFID technology

Dr. Tom Pypker  Natural Resource Sciences 

ecohydrology, carbon processes, hydrology, micrometerology, ecophysiology, impacts of climate change and land-use change on ecosystem processes

Dr. Matthew Reudink  Biological Sciences 

ornithology, animal ecology, evolution of plumage in birds, animal behaviour 

Dr. Shane Rollans Mathematics & Statistics 

applied statistical analysis, stochastic optimization, statistical education

Dr. Cindy Ross Friedman  Biological Sciences 

plant anatomy, seed development, reproductive development of mistletoe

Dr. Mohamed Tawhid  Mathematics & Statistics 

stochastic optimization, nonlinear optimization, neural network, operations research, modelling and computations

Dr. Richard Taylor Mathematics & Statistics

dynamical systems and chaos, ergodic theory, physical origins of randomness and irreversibility, mathematical biology, delay differential equations, numerical analysis and scientific computing

Dr. Peter Tsigaris  Economics 

environmental economics, economics of clean technologies, of climate change, environmental policy and regulation, environmental management, environmental experiments for education, valuation of environmental goods and services

Joanna Urban Biological Sciences 

environmental microbiology; molecular and biochemical techniques, dwarf mistletoe's seed development

Dr. Jon Van Hamme  Biological Sciences 

environmental microbiology, biodegradation, bioremediation, pollutants, microbiology, biocatalyst 

Dr. Roger Yu Mathematics & Statistics 

graph theory and discrete optimization, mathematics 

Adjunct Faculty   


Dr. Nancy Elliott Adjunct NRS, BC Ministry of FLNRO


Dr. Heath Garris Post Doctoral Fellow at TRU


Dr. Purnima Govindarajulu Adjunct, University of Victoria  
Dr. Leigh Anne Isaac  Adjunct NRS, Senior Wildlife Biologist for Vast Resource Solutions


Dr. Reg Newman Adjunct NRS, BC Ministry of FLNRO


Dr. Craig Stevens  Adjunct NRS, Professor Faculty of Veterinary Medicine at U of C