Faculty and Staff

Message from the Chair

Welcome to the Tourism Management department at TRU.

Tourism involves movement outside one’s normal social and physical environments for pleasure, relaxation and recreation. It is a rapidly growing industry and already one of the largest in British Columbia and Canada and, indeed, the world.

Tourism involves the provision of accommodation, food and beverages, recreation and entertainment, and transportation for a myriad of experiences. Many tourism activities now attract their own labels: adventure tourism, eco-tourism, family tourism, heritage tourism, medical tourism, resort tourism, spiritual tourism, sports tourism, and more.

At TRU our Tourism Management programs are designed to equip students with the skills and confidence to work in a dynamic and vibrant industry. Careers in the tourism sector require customer-focus, excellent communication skills, adaptability, business acumen, entrepreneurship, flexibility and social and environmental awareness. Our programs are innovative and have been developed in collaboration with provincial, regional, and local tourism-related organizations; they also draw on the latest research in the field, some of which have been undertaken by our faculty.

Learning experiences in Tourism Management extend beyond the classroom. Our students connect with local, regional, national, and global stakeholders in a wide range of tourism sectors through projects, research, field schools, work placements, and student exchanges.

Our graduates are evidence of the strength and success of our programs. Many are now pursuing rewarding careers in destination marketing, hotels and resorts, events, sports, recreation, and food and beverage management. Please take a moment to watch the videos that showcase our graduates, their careers and their lives in the tourism industry.

I also encourage you to read the profiles of our faculty and learn about our programs.

Please contact me if you have any questions about our programs or the Tourism Management team at TRU.

Lian Dumouchel


Faculty Members
Doug Booth Dean dobooth@tru.ca 250-852-7138
David Carter Assistant Teaching Professor dcarter@tru.ca 250-852-7660
Kellee Caton Professor kcaton@tru.ca
Judith Chomitz Associate Teaching Professor jchomitz@tru.ca 250-377-6165
Billy Collins Associate Teaching Professor   bcollins@tru.ca 250-828-5256
Lian Dumouchel Teaching Professor & Department Chair           ldumouchel@tru.ca 250-828-5220
John Hull Associate Professor jhull@tru.ca 250-852-7638
Courtney Mason Professor & CRC Tier 2 cmason@tru.ca 250-828-5446
Robin Reid Associate Professor rreid@tru.ca 250-317-5784
Anne Terwiel Teaching Professor aterwiel@tru.ca 250-371-5761
Kimberly Thomas Francois Assistant Teaching Professor kthomasfrancois@tru.ca 250-852-7666
Jason Johnston Assistant Teaching Professor jajohnston@tru.ca 250-852-7638
Part-time Faculty Members
Jarita Heer   jheer@tru.ca
Greg Simmonds   gsimmonds@tru.ca
Professor Emeritus/Adjunct Faculty
Rob Hood Professor Emeritus    
Divisional Assistant
Candace Thatcher   cthatcher@tru.ca 250-828-5132
Program Advisors
Greg Simmonds & Jarita Heer   tourismadvising@tru.ca