Thompson Rivers University
Thompson Rivers University
[an error occurred while processing this directive]


The Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) was established in 1952 and is an independent, non-profit membership organization recognized by the United States Department of Education as the regional authority on educational quality and institutional effectiveness of higher education institutions within the Northwest United States.

The NWCCU is one of six regional organizations which service the seven-state Northwest region of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah and Washington, in addition to the province of British Columbia, Canada. It fulfills its mission by establishing accreditation criteria and evaluation procedures by which institutions are reviewed.

The Commission oversees regional accreditation for 162 institutions. Its decision-making body consists of up to 26 Commissioners who represent the public and the diversity of higher education institutions within the Northwest region.

NWCCU Accreditation Standards