Thompson Rivers University
Thompson Rivers University

Advisory Committee

The Bachelor of Natural Resource Science program advisory committee is composed of between five and 12 members appointed by the Vice-President, Instruction and Student Services in consultation with the dean and department chairperson. Any nominations for appointment may be submitted by members of the Board of Governors, current advisory committee members or TRU staff. Appointees may be drawn from such categories as employers and potential employers of program graduates; persons working in program-related occupations or professions; professional; trade and business organization representatives; students; and staff from other post secondary institutions.

The role of the committee includes advising TRU on the need for revisions to the program content and on current and projected demand for program graduates. They also advise the department on the degree to which the program fulfils the needs of employers and assist in program promotion and the development of links with business, industry and other institutions.

Currently the Natural Resource Science advisory committee is composed of:

  • Alf Bawtree, Committee Chair
  • Brian Chan, Ministry of Water, Lands and Air Protection
  • Randy Chan, Tolko Industries
  • John Jules, Kamloops Indian Band
  • Doug Jury, Ministry of Water, Lands and Air Protection
  • Catherine Tarasoff, British Columbia Conservation Foundation
  • Zeke Withler

TRU Representatives: Wendy Gardner, Brian Heise, Gary Hunt, Larry Iles, Colin James, John Karakatsoulis, Karl Larsen, Donna Mason, Marion Oke, Neil Russell, Elisa Scordo, and Kent Watson