[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Thompson Rivers University
Thompson Rivers University

Student Recruitment & Retention Committee

Mike Lemphers,
Allied Health (Respiratory Therapy)
Sheri Watson,
Natural Resource Sciences
Janice Karpluk Dean's office
Sonia Walczak Animal Health Technology
Mindy Marshall ARET
Nancy Flood Biological Sciences
Christine Petersen Biological Sciences
Susan Purdy                Biological Sciences
Kevin O'Neil Computing Science
Xiaoping Shi Math and Stats
Christina Mohr    Physical Science - Chemistry
Dan Bissonnette Physical Science - Physics
* Student Rep

Terms of Reference


For purposes of Terms of Reference the following definitions shall apply:

  • TRU - Thompson Rivers University.
  • Council - Faculty of Science Council.
  • Senate - Thompson Rivers University Council.
  • Chair/ Vice Chair - the Chair/Vice Chair of the Committee.
  • Dean - refers to the Dean of Science.
  • Faculty member - a person employed by TRU, full time or part time, in the Faculty of Science, as an Instructor, Lecturer, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor or Full Professor.
  • Student member - an undergraduate or graduate student, chosen to represent the interests of Science Students on the Committee.
  • Staff member - a person employed by TRU, full time or part time, in the Faculty of Science, as support staff or administrator.

Mission Statement

The Student Recruitment and Retention Committee (SRRC) is a standing sub-committee of the Science Faculty Council. The SRRC promotes strategies for the recruitment and retention of Science students at TRU.


  • At least one representative from each discipline plus up to a maximum of two students in the Faculty of Science – voting
  • The Dean of Science - voting
  • The Administrative Coordinator for the Faculty of Science – voting
  • Quorum shall be a third of the committee plus one.
  • The committee will elect a chair from the membership.
  • A member of the committee shall be charged with taking notes that shall be kept on file in the Dean’s office. Minutes will be available to the public, and reports made to Faculty council.
  • Committee members will serve 3 year terms.


  • The SRRC will review, and attempt to assess the effectiveness of, current activities and strategies used within the Faculty of Science for the purpose of student recruitment and retention.
  • In addition, the SRRC will maintain a record of all such recruitment and retention activities and will initiate and facilitate new strategies to accomplish these goals.