Thompson Rivers University
Thompson Rivers University

Academic Standards Committee

Linda Mueller, Chair Allied Health
Mindy Marshall ARET
Heather Shannon Animal Health Technology
Janice Karpluk    Dean's office
Joanna Urban Biological Sciences
Mahnhoon Lee Computing Science
Mohamed Tawhid Math & Stats
Jaque Sorenson Natural Resource Sciences
Heidi Huttunen-Hennelly Physical Sciences - Chemistry
Ernest Tsui Physical Sciences - Physics

Terms of Reference


For purposes of Terms of Reference the following definitions shall apply:

  • TRU - Thompson Rivers University
  • Council - Faculty of Science Council
  • Senate - Thompson Rivers University Council
  • PTFSC - Promotions ,Tenure and Faculty Standards Committee of Senate
  • Chair/ Vice Chair - the Chair/Vice Chair of the Committee.
  • Dean - refers to the Dean of Science
  • Faculty member - a person employed by TRU, full time or sessional, in the Faculty of Science as Lecturer or Professor (at any rank)
  • Academic Standards - are standards related to teaching, scholarship and service

Mission Statement

The Academic Standards Committee is responsible for ensuring that the existing Academic Standards are current, and developing new Academic Standards if and where necessary. Currency of the Academic Standards requires periodic reviewing, revising (when directed by Faculty Council), and approval (by Faculty Council and then by the PTFSC). The committee, via liaison with Senate and other committees and departments, also has the responsibility of ensuring that Academic Standards are properly interpreted and fairly and consistently applied for the purposes of promotions and tenure, appointment of new faculty, and ongoing faculty performance evaluation. The Academic Standards Committee will also undertake other relevant duties as directed by Faculty Council.



  • 1-2 faculty members from each Department in the Faculty of Science. Departments comprising of more than one discipline are encouraged to have a diverse representation, including faculty teaching in the lab, as well as classroom
  • Dean, Associate Dean of Science or the Assistant to the Dean of Science
  • Committee shall seek consensus on all issues; in the event that consensus cannot be reached, a majority vote will be used to carry forward recommendations to Faculty Council


  • The committee shall elect a chair from the membership for a one year term (renewable)
  • Election and starting dates for the position will take place according to the Faculty Council election schedule

Committee members:

  • Shall serve 3-year terms (renewable), with staggered terms in the first 4 years of operation
  • One member shall be charged with taking notes, which will be kept on file. Action minutes shall be publicly available and reports made to Faculty Council


  • This committee may establish sub-committees to undertake duties as needed. Sub-committees shall report back to the Academic Standards Committee


  • Develops policy and periodically reviews Faculty of Science academic standards related to teaching, research and service for the purposes of:
    • ongoing evaluation of faculty performance and course delivery;
    • appointment of faculty;
    • promotion and tenure of faculty
  • Monitors academic standards and procedures that affect the welfare and reputation of the Faculty of Science in the wider community
  • Liaises with senate and with departmental performance review, appointment, sabbatical leave and promotion and tenure committees to ensure that standards are being interpreted properly and being applied fairly and consistently
  • Undertakes other relevant duties as directed by Faculty Council