Leadership Team

TRU is a public post-secondary institution, funded by the Province of British Columbia through the Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills and Training. The University Act legislates the leadership of the university, including the powers, duties and offices of the president. The president holds the offices of vice-chancellor, member of the Board of Governors and chair of the Senate (see Governance).

President and Vice-Chancellor

Brett Fairbairn, President and Vice-Chancellor, is the chief executive officer, responsible to the Board of Governors and Senate for the supervision of TRU’s administrative and academic work. Advising and reporting to the President are the Provost and Vice-President Academic, the Vice-President Administration and Finance, the Vice President Advancement, the Associate Vice-President Marketing and Communications, and the Executive Director Indigenous Education.

Provost and Vice-President, Academic and Research

Christine Bovis-Cnossen, Provost and VP Academic, provides leadership for TRU’s academic operations, including teaching and learning, research, and students.

Vice-President, Administration and Finance

Matt Milovick, VP Administration and Finance, provides leadership for TRU’s administrative operations, including services, resources, and reporting.

Vice-President, University Relations

Brian Daly, VP, University Relations, provides leadership for TRU’s internal and external relations.

Special Advisor to the President on Indigenous Matters

Paul Michel, Special Advisor to the President on Indigenous Matters, focuses on providing leadership to the development of a collective vision, set of values, and strategic direction for Indigenization at Thompson Rivers University.

General Counsel and Corporate Secretary

John Sparks, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, provides leadership in all matters with legal implications for the university.

Search To Top