School of
Business and Economics

Research Supervisors

Full Graduate Instructor/SupervisorResearch Area
Dr. Hasnat Dewan 
(IB2043)
hdewan@tru.ca
Sustainable development
Quality of life
The growth-poverty-inequality nexus
Resource and urban economics
Banking crisis
Microfinance
Public policy
Dr. James Gaisford 
(IB2001)
jgaisford@tru.ca
International trade and the environment including: 
(a) international aspects of climate change policy, 
(b) how international trade affects the environment, and 
(c) how international trade agreements and international environmental agreements fit (or do not fit) together
Dr. Belayet Hossain 
(IB2020)
bhossain@tru.ca
Non-profit sector
Public policy
Aboriginal issues
Public finance
Women empowerment
Micro finance
Consumer behaviour
Housing
Dr. Laura Lamb 
(IB2024)
llamb@tru.ca
Sustainable community economic development
Non-profits
Public policy
Indigenous economic issues
Environmental sustainability
Dr. Ehsan Latif 
(IB2052)
elatif@tru.ca
Demand for energy
Monetary valuation of envrionmental impact
Environmental health
Dr. Bruce Martin 
(IB2007)
brmartin@tru.ca
Social enterprise creation, design, scaling, impact, and ecosystem
Non-profit creation, business model development, and governance
Entrepreneurship for disadvantaged groups
Entrepreneurship education, motivation, skill development
Innovation processes
Creative problem solving processes
Dr. Stan Miles 
(IB2045)
smiles@tru.ca
Symbolic regression
Microeconomics
Scholarship of teaching and learning
Dr. Nancy Southin
(IB2013)
nsouthin@tru.ca
 
Dr. Hafiz Rahman
(IB2040)
hrahman@tru.ca
Public policy
Local government decision-making
Aboriginal issues
Dr. Joel Wood 
(IB2008)
jwood@tru.ca
Environmental economics
Environmental policy
Air pollution
Water
Climate change
Gas taxes
Public policy
Dr. Peter Tsigaris 
(IB2005)
ptsigaris@tru.ca
Environmental economics
Climate change
Regulation
Valuation
Education

Associate Graduate Instructor/SupervisorResearch Area
Dr. Salvador Barragan 
(IB2010)
sbarragan@tru.ca
Gender and diversity
Leadership and organizational culture
Nancy Carson 
(B2050)
ncarson@tru.ca
Economics
Dr. Salman Kimiagari 
(IB2023)
skimiagari@tru.ca
International aspects of climate change policy,
International trade effects on the environment
Sustainable development/Global supply chain
Consumer behavior
Demand for energy  
Dr. Meng Sun 
(IB2053)
msun@tru.ca
Environmental economics
Labour economics
Environmental impacts on health and labour market
Dr. Li Zhang 
(IB2018)
lizhang@tru.ca
Finance

Note: Associate & Full Graduate Instructor/Supervisors can be project supervisors, second readers for projects, and thesis committee members.

Only a Full Graduate Instructor/Supervisor can be a main supervisor for a thesis.