TRU
Business and Economics

Accounting and Finance

Tony Bell

Chair / Associate Teaching Professor

  • Chartered Professional Accountant
  • MBA Thompson Rivers University
  • BBA Simon Fraser University
Tony Bell

The Accounting, Finance and Law Department is responsible for over 130 sections of courses covering diplomas, degrees, post baccalaureates and the MBA. We are a professionally focused department comprised of Chartered Professional Accountants (CPA), Chartered Financial Analysts (CFA), Finance Researchers and Professional Lawyers. We have a mix of teaching and research faculty. The research faculty are typically in the finance area, whereas the teaching faculty are mostly from the accounting and legal fields.

To keep our course content current and relevant to the various professional certification bodies requires substantial continuing education and research. These include things like professional workshops on writing legal briefs, International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), International and Canadian tax laws, etc. In addition to these ongoing workshops our faculty have produced a series of published teaching cases and traditional academic publications.


Department Faculty List
Name Position Phone Office Email
Tony Bell Chair, Associate Teaching Professor 250-377-6092 OM3791 tbell@tru.ca
Accounting
Rob Anderson Associate Teaching Professor 250-371-5506 IB2014 randerson@tru.ca
Kai Bauman Assistant Teaching Professor 250-371-5504 IB2009 kbauman@tru.ca
Ivan Desjardins Associate Teaching Professor 250-828-5233 IB2012 idesjardins@tru.ca
Marc Dubord University Instructor 250-828-5222 IB2021 mdubord@tru.ca
Liz Yanmin Gao Associate Professor contact by email   ygao@tru.ca
Jeff Kent University Instructor 250-828-5222 IB2021 jekent@tru.ca
Peggy McKimmon    Associate Teaching Professor  (on leave)       contact by email pmckimmon@tru.ca
Jana Noskova University Instructor 778-471-8467 OM3761 jnoskova@tru.ca
Wayne Singular Assistant Teaching Professor 250-377-6176 OM3779 wsingular@tru.ca
Finance
Adina Gray University Instructor, SoBE OL Coordinator 250-828-5490 OM1241 agray@tru.ca
Yong Joo Kang Assistant Professor 250-828-5398 IB2060 ykang@tru.ca
Randall Kimmel Associate Professor 250-852-7664 IB2015 rkimmel@tru.ca
Alex Ng Professor 250-852-6397 OM3783 ang@tru.ca
Zubair Raja Assistant Teaching Professor 250-371-5575 OM3793A zraja@tru.ca
Dan Thompson Teaching Professor  250-828-5078 OM3787 dthompson@tru.ca
Li Zhang Assistant Professor 250-371-5612 IB2018 lizhang@tru.ca
Law
John O'Fee Assistant Teaching Professor 250-371-5560 IB2011 jofee@tru.ca
Ryan Scorgie University Instructor 778-471-8384 OM1241 rscorgie@tru.ca