TRU
Business and Economics

Accounting and Finance

Tony Bell

Chair / Associate Teaching Professor

  • MBA Thompson Rivers University
  • CA Institute of Chartered Accountants
  • BBA Simon Fraser University
Tony Bell
 
 

The Accounting, Finance and Law Department is responsible for over 130 sections of courses covering diplomas, degrees, post baccalaureates and the MBA. We are a professionally focused department comprised of Chartered Professional Accountants (CPA), Chartered Financial Analysts (CFA), Finance Researchers and Professional Lawyers. We have a mix of teaching and research faculty. The research faculty are typically in the finance area, whereas the teaching faculty are mostly from the accounting and legal fields.

To keep our course content current and relevant to the various professional certification bodies requires substantial continuing education and research. These include things like professional workshops on writing legal briefs, International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS), International and Canadian tax laws, etc. In addition to these ongoing workshops our faculty have produced a series of published teaching cases and traditional academic publications.


Department Faculty List
NamePositionPhoneOfficeEmail
Tony Bell Chair, Associate Teaching Professor 250-377-6092 OM3791 tbell@tru.ca
Accounting
Siena Aberdeen    Sessional Lecturer 250-828-5222 IB2021 saberdeen@tru.ca
Rob Anderson Associate Teaching Professor 250-371-5506 IB2014 randerson@tru.ca
Kai Bauman Assistant Teaching Professor 250-371-5504 IB2009 kbauman@tru.ca
Ivan Desjardins Associate Teaching Professor 250-828-5233 IB2012 idesjardins@tru.ca
Marc Dubord Sessional Lecturer 250-828-5222 IB2021 mdubord@tru.ca
Michael Hays    Sessional Lecturer 250-828-5222 IB2021 mhays@tru.ca
Mackenzie Kanigan Sessional Lecturer 250-828-5222 IB2021 wkanigan@tru.ca
Jeff Kent Sessional Lecturer 250-828-5222 IB2021 jekent@tru.ca
Randall Kimmel Associate Professor 250-852-7664 IB2015 rkimmel@tru.ca
Peggy McKimmon    Associate Teaching Professor  (on leave)       contact by email pmckimmon@tru.ca
Jana Noskova Assistant Teaching Professor 778-471-8467 OM3761 jnoskova@tru.ca
Dan Pan Sessional Lecturer 250-828-5222 IB2021 dapan@tru.ca
Wayne Singular Assistant Teaching Professor 250-377-6176 OM3779 wsingular@tru.ca
Finance
Robin Bhattachary    Sessional Lecturer 250-828-5222 IB2021 rbhattachary@tru.ca
Adina Gray University Instructor 250-828-5490 OM1241J agray@tru.ca
Yong Joo Kang Assistant Professor 250-828-5398 IB2060 ykang@tru.ca
Alex Ng Professor 250-852-6397 OM3783 ang@tru.ca
Zubair Raja Assistant Teaching Professor 250-3715575 OM3793A zraja@tru.ca
Dan Thompson Teaching Professor (sabbatical July 1, 2019-June 30, 2020) 250-828-5078 OM3787 dthompson@tru.ca
Li Zhang Assistant Professor 250-371-5612 IB2018 lizhang@tru.ca
Law
Hardeep Chahal Sessional Lecturer 250-828-5222 IB2021 hchahal@tru.ca
David Hughes Sessional Lecturer 250-828-5222 IB2021 dhughes@tru.ca
John O'Fee Assistant Teaching Professor 250-371-5560 IB2011 jofee@tru.ca
Ryan Scorgie University Instructor 778-471-8384 OM1241i rscorgie@tru.ca