TRU
Business and Economics

Accounting, Finance & Law

Dan Thompson

Chair / Teaching Professor

  • Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA CMA)
  • Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)
  • MBA Queen’s University
  • BEd University of Manitoba
  • BCom University of Manitoba
Dan Thompsonl

The Accounting, Finance, and Law Department is the largest department in the School of Business and Economics (SOBE) teaching over 160 course sections each year. Our main programs are the Accounting and Finance Majors and Minors in the Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA), but we also offer Post-Baccalaureate Diplomas in Accounting and Finance, an Accounting Technician Diploma, and service courses in accounting, finance, and law to other academic units.

Our department has a balance of research and teaching faculty. The researchers have a wide range of referred publications, while teaching faculty write case studies, develop open educational resources, design and facilitate distance courses, work as consultants, serve on boards of directors, continue to practice law, participate in local politics, and are active members of CPA Canada, the CFA Institute, and the Law Society of British Columbia.


Department Faculty List
NamePositionPhoneOfficeEmail
Dan Thompson Chair, Teaching Professor  250-828-5078 OM3787 dthompson@tru.ca
Accounting
Rob Anderson Associate Teaching Professor 250-371-5506 IB2014 randerson@tru.ca
Tony Bell Associate Teaching Professor 250-377-6092 OM3791 tbell@tru.ca
Kai Bauman Assistant Teaching Professor (on leave) 250-371-5504 IB2009 kbauman@tru.ca
Ivan Desjardins Associate Teaching Professor 250-828-5233 IB2012 idesjardins@tru.ca
Marc Dubord University Instructor 250-828-5222 IB2076 mdubord@tru.ca
Liz Yanmin Gao Associate Professor 250-371-5936 IB2013 ygao@tru.ca
Jeff Kent University Instructor 250-828-5222 IB2076 jekent@tru.ca
Jana Noskova University Instructor 778-471-8467 OM3761 jnoskova@tru.ca
Wayne Singular Assistant Teaching Professor 250-377-6176 OM3759 wsingular@tru.ca
Finance
Raymond Cox Professor  250-852-6387 IB2045 rcox@tru.ca
Adina Gray University Instructor, SoBE OL Coordinator 250-828-5490 IB2061 agray@tru.ca
Yong Joo Kang Assistant Professor 250-828-5398 IB2060 ykang@tru.ca
Randall Kimmel Associate Professor 250-852-7664 IB2015 rkimmel@tru.ca
Alex Ng Professor (on leave) contact by email   ang@tru.ca
Zubair Raja Assistant Teaching Professor 250-371-5575 OM3793A zraja@tru.ca
Li Zhang Assistant Professor 250-371-5612 IB2018 lizhang@tru.ca
Law
John O'Fee Assistant Teaching Professor 250-371-5560 IB2011 jofee@tru.ca
Ryan Scorgie University Instructor 778-471-8384 IB2072 rscorgie@tru.ca