

SENATE TENURE AND PROMOTION COMMITTEE (STPC)

2016 Annual Report to Senate

For the Period 1 January to 31 December 2016

Membership effective December 31, 2016

Christine Bovis-Cnossen, Provost & Vice-President Academic, CHAIR Will Garrett-Petts, AVP Research and Graduate Studies Tom Friedman, TRUFA Observer (non-voting)
Bradford Morse, Dean, Faculty of Law Dr. Airini, Dean, Faculty of Education and Social Work Pat Neufeld, Faculty of Education and Social Work Avninder Gill, School of Business & Economics Elizabeth Rennie, University Library Karen Hofmann, Faculty of Arts Roger Yu, Faculty of Science Mary Ann Mochizuki, Faculty of Student Development Tom Haag, School of Trades and Technology Vacant, Faculty of Law Iain Stewart-Patterson, Faculty of Adventure, Culinary Arts and Tourism

Meeting Dates

Joanne Jones, School of Nursing

Michelle Harrison, Open Learning Division

January 7, 2016	March 10, 2016	May 19, 2016
February 4, 2016	March 17, 2016	September 15, 2016
February 11, 2016	March 31, 2016	
February 25, 2016	April 21, 2016	

Summary Table 2016

The number of Faculty Members recommended for tenure and/or promotion by their Division, Faculty or School Tenure & Promotion Committee (DFSTPC): Faculty of Arts (6), Faculty of Science (6), Faculty of Education and Social Work (5), School of Business and Economics (4), School of Nursing (1), Faculty of Law (4), University Library (2)	28
The number of Faculty Members not recommended for tenure and/or promotion by their DFSTPC: School of Nursing (1)	1
The number of Faculty Members recommended by the DFSTPC which were not recommended by the Senate Tenure and Promotion Committee	0
The number of Faculty Members not recommended by the DFSTPC that were recommended by the Senate Tenure and Promotion Committee	1
Total applications reviewed by the Senate Tenure and Promotion Committee	36
Applicants invited to appear before the Senate Tenure and Promotion Committee (STPC)	5
Applicants not recommended for promotion	0
Recommendations to STPC for promotion to Full Professor	5
Recommendations to STPC for promotion to Associate Professor	12
Recommendations to STPC for promotion to Principal Lecturer	1
Recommendations to STPC for promotion to Senior Lecturer	9
Recommendations to STPC for promotion to Librarian II	2
Recommendations to STPC for tenure	7

Respectfully submitted,

Christine L. Bovis-Cnossen, PhD, FRSA Provost and Vice-President Academic Chair, Senate Tenure and Promotion Committee