

Advisory Committee on Investments Terms of Reference

Purpose:

The purpose of the Advisory Committee on Investments is to provide advice to the Vice President, Administration and Finance on investment policies, strategies and asset mix.

Membership:

- Vice President, Administration and Finance Chair
- Board of Governors members (2) appointed by the Board
 - Member of the Finance Committee of the Board of Governors (ongoing appointment)
 - Board of Governors' member (two year term appointment)
- One faculty member from the Board of Governors, nominated by the Board Chair and appointed by the Vice-President, Administration and Finance
- One student, appointed by the Vice-President, Administration and Finance
- Associate Vice President, Finance
- Director, Finance
- Vice President, University Relations
- President (*ex-officio* member)

External Members (non-voting):

- Representative(s) from the Investment Management Firm
- Other advisory or consultative personnel as needed

Quorum:

Majority, and in addition the Chair (or designate) must be present.

Duties:

- Develop investment policy (short and long term) for recommendation to the Board of Governors through the Vice President, Administration and Finance
- Review on a regular basis the investment performance of the Investment Manager, including the Investment Manager's adherence to the investment policy and asset mix
- Recommend the appointment and termination of the Investment Management Firm
- Recommend modifications to investment policy and asset mix to Vice President, Administration and Finance
- Review and provide appropriate comment on the Investment Manager's annual report to TRU on investment performance

• Provides the Vice President, Administration and Finance with advice on other investment matters brought to the Advisory Committee by the Vice President, Administration and Finance

Meeting Schedule:

Meetings will be held a minimum of two times per year; additional meetings will be at the call of the Chair

Committee Support:

Support for the Advisory Committee will be provided by the Office of the General Counsel and Secretariat.