Thompson Rivers University Act

An Overview



Updated 2021

Summary

- > There are 3 pieces of legislation in B.C. governing universities:
 - University Act (UBC, SFU, UVIC, UNBC and new SPTU's)
 - Thompson Rivers University Act
 - Royal Roads University Act
- > The *TRU Act* is short 8 pages.
- > 60 sections of the University Act are incorporated by reference (out of 80 sections in the University Act) e.g.
 - Need approval of Minister to dispose of land;
 - May not spend more any year than estimated revenue that year without approval of Minister;
 - Land exemption from property taxes;
 - President may suspend a student or employee;
 - Cannot establish a new degree without approval of Minister.



Purposes

> The purposes of the University are to:

- Offer baccalaureate and masters degree programs;
- Offer post-secondary and adult basic education and training;
- Undertake and maintain research and scholarly activities for the above;
- Provide an open learning educational credit bank for students.



Purposes (cont'd)

> The University must promote the use of open learning methods.

- > In carrying out its purposes, the University must serve:
 - the educational and training needs of the region;
 - the open learning needs of B.C.



Board of Governors

Composition – is the same as under the University Act:

- Chancellor;
- President;
- 2 faculty members elected by faculty members;
- 8 persons appointed by the Province (including 2 nominated by the Alumni Association);
- 2 students elected by the students;
- 1 employee elected by non-faculty employees.

> Powers

 The management, administration and control of the property, revenue, business and affairs of University, except those vested in the Senate and the Planning Council for Open Learning, are vested in the Board.



Academic Governance

Senate - Composition

- Chancellor
- President (Chair)
- Provost and Vice-President Academic and Research
- Deans of Faculties (9)
- Chief Librarian
- Registrar
- 2 Faculty members for each Faculty
- 4 Students
- 1 Alumnus
- 1 Administrator of the Open Learning Division
- 4 Members of teaching staff of Open Learning Division
- <u>2</u>Support Staff
- 44 Total
- 18 are faculty members and 4 are teaching staff of the Open Learning Division – for a total of 22/44)



Academic Governance (cont'd)

Senate – Powers

- Set criteria for awarding degrees, diplomas and certificates;
- Set curriculum content for courses leading to programs;
- Set qualifications for admission;
- Set policies for examination;
- Set residency requirements;
- Set withdrawal policy;
- Set criteria for academic standing, academic standards;
- Set procedures for appeals by students on academic matters;
- Set policies for curriculum for evaluating transfers;



Planning Council for Open Learning

> Membership

- VP Academic (Chair);
- 2 Deans appointed by the President;
- 2 Officers of the University appointed by the President;
- 2 Faculty who are on the Senate;
- 2 members of the teaching staff of the OL Division elected by teaching staff of the OL Division;
- 2 persons nominated by other BC public universities;
- 2 persons nominated by BC Colleges and Institutes;
- 1 student from the OL Division elected by OL Division students.



Planning Council for Open Learning (cont'd)

> Powers

- All courses and programs at the Open Learning Division are subject to governance by the Senate with two exceptions.
- The Planning Council for Open Learning has the power to set:

 admission requirements for courses and programs;
 and
 - residency requirements for credentials
 offered through the Open Learning Division.

