THOMPSON RIVERS

THE SENATE RESEARCH COMMITTEE Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Time: 3:30 pm	n – 5:00 pm	Minutes	Location: CN Boardroom
Present:	Paul Maharas, Barbara Pater Don Noakes, Jim Hu , Krysta	· · · ·	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Regrets:	Will Garret-Petts, Roger Yu		
1. CALL TO ORDER - Meeting called to order 3:35 pm.			

 ADOPTION OF AGENDA – Agenda adopted with addition; Don Noakes – LEEF Chair position update On motion duly moved by D.Noakes, seconded by J.Hu, and passed unanimously by committee, it was resolved to adopt as revised

3. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

September 20, 2011 Minutes adopted with minor change:

Under #4 – CIHR reports add: D.Noakes and E.Latif will contact CIHR and work together to find a delegate from TRU faculty members to take Barbara's delegate position *On motion duly moved by B.Paterson, seconded byJ.Hu and passed by unanimously committee, it was resolved to adopt minutes.*

4. **REPORTS**

Report by Donald Noakes – Research Enhancement Fund – 15 applications were received and adjudication committee has been struck: Star Mahara, Sean McGinnis, Will Garret-Petts, Gail McKay and Don Noakes. Meeting is being set up on late October 26/27. \$50,00-\$60,000 has been set aside for tripartite faculty members. A new research fund is being set up by the Provost for both bi/tripartite members. Most applications have come from new hires, one 4A and a couple of others.

UREAP – Jerri Lynn Cameron set up info sessions, many students attended and was very well received. Deadline Oct 24

SSHRC – two insight grant applications have been forwarded.

NSERC - Expecting 6 NSERC applications

One CIRH application has been submitted. One large application is pending and will be send forth on the deadline date.

CRC Chair – D.Noakes will ask Deans at Deans council where they believe we should place this chair (in light of the academic plan) and move forward from there.

Report from Chair – Eshan Latif tried to find new members for this committee but was not successful in filling all positions. We did not get a faculty senator to volunteer as Chair. Terms are 3 years. Paul Manhas & Don Noakes are ongoing, others are time limited. Tom Dickinson suggests that we ensure a succession plan so everyone does not leave at once.

UREAP award committee: Cindy Ross and Robin Reed have left and Diane Purvey has gone on sabbatical. Three people need to be replaced. Cindy and Robin have been replaced. Matt Reudink (Biology) is one replacement, John Hull from Tourism is one replacement. We need to make for committee – TOR need to be made for ACC, Human Ethics, Senate Research committee and D.Noakes will make drafts and bring them to this committee for review and approval.

Membership – Eshan confirmed that this committee does not have any members from Open Learning. Tom Dickinson feels that information is consistent with anyone (faculty) is able to volunteer if they so desire. We need to make sure that all faculty members get the call – John Sparks is in charge of all the calls for senate committee memberships. Eshan will check with John if we need someone from OL or not.

Research Centre policy – Issue is that so many people apply for research centres and how many centres should we allow/have. Discussion ensued regarding who should be responsible for approving a centre and what process should be used to put these applications through. APPC has reviewed the applications before them and they will circulate a policy to APPC members so they can discuss this and come up with some form of policy for this process. This committee has only approved one centre, there are three centres in the process of review by this committee and others. Existing centres that were here were grandfathered into the university and had three years to re-apply for centre status. B.Paterson has advocated that we change the application process and requirements so that it is more of a business model/case. It was felt that we ask all committees that are more than 3 years old to resubmit to be a centre.

<u>Action Item</u>: D.Noakes will write each person and attach policy to inform the centres that they were grandfathered for three years and they now need to be revisited and resubmitted.

This committee could comment on the research component of the centre, PCOS can comment on financing/administration of it, and senate can comment on the academic portion of the request to become a centre.

For new centres: This committee can review the research portion and recommend approval (or not) and then send forward to next committee for next steps. Deliverables need to be outlined, 3-5 year plan on how they will govern themselves, expand research agendas, pay for the centre, etc need to be explained in application. Existing Centre policy is due to be reviewed in 2013, Don suggests going through policy and highlighting what the key criteria are for reviewing and evaluating a centre application.

Don Noakes – The Endowed Chair search has resulted in five applications. The Research Senate committee needs to approve the Endowed Chair selection committee: D.Noakes confirms the five member selection committee as: Mila Kwiatkowska, Shelley Johnson, Jeanette Murray, Don Nelson.

On motion duly moved by D.Noakes, seconded byT.Dickinson and passed by unanimously committee, it was resolved to approve committee as stated.

7. NEXT MEETING – 3:30 p.m. Tuesday, November 15, 2011. CN Boardroom