TRU SENATE AWARDS & HONOURS COMMITTEE

Place: OL 127

Date: Tuesday, February 5, 2013

MINUTES

- Present: Christine Anderson , Gordon Down, Wayne Hendry (non-voting), Jack Miller, Jeromy Spence, Martha White.
- Absent: Marjorie Budnikas, Chris Axworthy, Stephen Eaglestone, Ginny Ratsoy, Christopher Seguin (non-voting)
- 1) The meeting began at 1:05 PM. The agenda was adopted with the adoption of the minutes being deferred to the next regular meeting of the committee.
- 2) Old Business
 - Motion: That the 2012 Lieutenant Governor's Silver Medal be awarded to nominee Cassandra Hook, Community and School Support Worker Certificate graduate. Approved. (MW/JM)

The committee recommended that for 2013 the Awards Office remove the reference to academic performance from the faculty nomination letter and form in order to increase nominations, and then screen for academic performance after nominations have been received.

- 3) New Business
 - Motion: That the Ambassador's Entrance Scholarship presented be *Denied*, subject to confirmation that the student had not submitted any additional documentation to Student & Judicial Affairs. Approved. (JM/JS)
 - 2) Motion: That a 2012-13 Emeritus Sub-committee be struck, with membership consisting of Jack Miller, Ginny Ratsoy, & Martha White. Approved. (GD/CA)

The sub-committee will be responsible for choosing its chair, and reporting back to the Office of the President with its recommendations.

4) The meeting was adjourned at 1:50 PM. (JM)