Thompson Rivers University
Thompson Rivers University

Faculty


Lucille Anderson

Lucille Anderson, BSc
Lecturer
landerson@tru.ca
250-828-5297
Office: S146

Labs: Principles of Biology 1 & 2
Human Biology: Anatomy and Physiology 1 & 2


Lyn Baldwin

Lyn Baldwin, PhD
Associate Professor
lybaldwin@tru.ca
250-377-6167
Office: S248

Courses: Principles of Biology 2, Evolution & Ecology of Land Plants, Systematics of Flowering Plants, Plant Ecology, Field Methods in Terrestrial Ecology

Research Interests: Plant ecology


Naowarat Cheeptham

Naowarat (Ann) Cheeptham, PhD
Associate Professor
ncheeptham@tru.ca
250-371-5891
Office: S354

Courses: Introductory Microbiology 1 & 2, Molecular Evolution, Advanced Microbiology Laboratory, Advanced Seminar (Bioremediation and Industrial Microbiology)

Research Interests: Microbial diversity: searching for potential bioactive compounds from microorganisms in different unique habitats (particularly volcanic caves and alkaline ponds)


Stephanie Chaput

Stephanie Chaput, BSc
schaput@tru.ca
250-828-5427
Office: S170

Labs: Biology of Humans, Principles of Biology 1 & 2, Human Biology: Anatomy and Physiology 1 & 2


Tom Dickinson

Dean of Science
Tom Dickinson
, PhD
tdickinson@tru.ca
250-852-7137
Office: S210

Courses: Introduction to Animal Behavior

Research Interests: Bird communities in high elevation forests, energy utilization by nuthatches


Don Ferguson

Don Ferguson, BSc
Lecturer
dferguson@tru.ca
250-371-5545
Office: S118

Labs: Human Biology: Anatomy and Physiology 1, Introductory Microbiology, Cell Biology, Introductory Genetics, Introductory Ecology


Nancy Flood

Nancy Flood, PhD
Senior Lecturer
nflood@tru.ca
250-828-5436
Office: S130

Courses: Principles of Biology 2, Biometrics, Population Biology, Field Methods in Terrestrial Ecology

Research Interests: Ecology and evolution of orioles; bird communities in high elevation forests


Lauchlan Fraser

Lauchlan H. Fraser, PhD

Professor (Full)
lfraser@tru.ca
250-377-6135
Office: RC201

Course: Research methods, preparation and presentation

Research Interests: Plant community restoration and management; Trophic dynamics; Conservation of freshwater resources


 

Louis A. Gosselin, PhD
Professor (Full)
lgosselin@tru.ca
250-828-5423
Office: RC203

Courses: Evolution of Animal Body Plans, Introduction to Ecology Community & Ecosystem Ecology, Population Biology, Introduction to Research, Field Methods in Marine Ecology

Research Interests: Ecology of early juvenile marine invertebrates: life history, mortality factors, adaptations, behaviour; invasive and threatened species. Ecology of invertebrates inhabiting saline ponds (alkaline ponds) of the BC interior


Rob Higgins

Rob Higgins, PhD
Assistant Professor
rhiggins@tru.ca
250-392-8176
Williams Lake Campus

Courses: Principles of Biology 1, Principles of Biology 2, Anatomy and Physiology, Pathophysiology

Research Interests: Ecology of ants in sub-boreal forests and the management of post-harvest coarse woody debris


Stephen Joly

Stephen Joly, BSc
Lecturer
sjoly@tru.ca
250-371-5572
Office: S361A

Labs: Principles of Biology 1 & 2, Biology of the Environment, Evolution of Animal Body Plans, Terrestrial Vertebrate Zoology


Mairi MacKay

Mairi MacKay, PhD
Department Chair and Associate Professor
mackay@tru.ca
250-828-5463
Office: S328

Courses: Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Immunology, Regulation of Gene Expression

Research Interests: DNA fingerprinting of Burrowing Owls


Don Nelson

Don Nelson, PhD
Associate Professor
dnelson@tru.ca
250-828-5425
Office S346

Courses: Molecular Genetics, Biochemical Techniques 2, Advanced Seminar in Selected Topics in Biology, Chemical Biology Laboratory

Research Interests: Application of molecular techniques to the study of embryonic development and neuroscience


Christine Peterson

Christine Petersen, MSc

Lecturer
cpetersen@tru.ca
250-371-5746
Office S114

Labs: Principles of Biology 1 & 2, Human Biology: Anatomy and Physiology 1 & 2, Introduction to Ecology, Evolution & Ecology of Land Plants


Susan Purdy

Susan Purdy, MSc
Senior Lecturer
spurdy@tru.ca
250-828-5166
Office S132

Labs: Principles of Biology 1 & 2, Evolution of Animal Body Plans, Animal Behaviour

Lectures: Biology of the Environment


Mark Rakobowchuk

Mark Rakobowchuk, PhD
mrakobowchuk@tru.ca
250-371-5544
Office: S328

Courses: Human Physiology I and II, Cell Physiology
Research interests: Human vascular adaptations to physiological perturbations, the interplay between platelets and vascular health, microvesicles and progenitor cells and their role in exercise induced adaptations.


Matthew Reudink

Matthew Reudink, PhD
Associate Professor
mreudink@tru.ca
250-828-5428
Office S350

Courses: Principles of Conservation Biology, Evolution

Research Interests: Behavioural ecology, sexual selection and ornithology; use of genetic and biogeochemical tools to track the year-round ecology of migratory animals


Karen Ross

Karen Ross, MSc
Senior Lecturer
kross@tru.ca
250-371-5535
Office S110

Lectures: Biology of Humans, Human Biology: Anatomy and Physiology 1 & 2

Research Interests: Exercise induced changes in the diabetic heart


Cynthia Ross Friedman

Cynthia Ross Friedman, PhD

Professor (Full)
cross@tru.ca
250-828-5424
Office: S348

Courses: Principles of Biology 1, Introduction to genetics, Biochemistry

Research Interests: Anatomy and development in dwarf mistletoes; microscopy


joanna-urban-photo

Joanna Urban, RT, MSc; PhD candidate

Lecturer
jurban@tru.ca
250-371-5542
Office: S352

Labs: Introductory Microbiology coordinator, Cell Physiology, Human Physiology

Lectures: Veterinary Microbiology, Medical Microbiology, Advanced Microbiology

Research Interests: Medical Microbiology, Molecular genetics and applications


Jonathan D. Van Hamme

Jonathan D. Van Hamme, PhD

Associate Professor
jvanhamme@tru.ca
250-377-6064
Office: S240

Courses: Introductory Microbiology, Microbial Physiology, Microbial Ecology, Advanced Microbiology Laboratory

Research Interests: Environmental microbiology and biotechnology


David Williams

David Williams, MSc

dwilliams@tru.ca
Professor Emeritus

Research Interests: Plant Phenology

Adjunct faculty

Julian Davies

Julian Davies, PhD

jed@interchange.ubc.ca

Research interests: The biology of small molecules, especially antibiotics from microorganisms


Simon Shamoun

Simon Shamoun, PhD

http://nofc.cfs.nrcan.gc.ca/employees/read/sshamoun

Research interests: Biotechnology and bioproducts; indigenous and invasive alien forest diseases; biological control agents; population biology and molecular diversity of forest pathogens


Ken Wagner

Ken Wagner, MD, FRCP

kenwagner@shaw.ca

Research interests: Microbiology; antibiotic resistance; emerging pathogens.